Why SHOULD I become a Geek? Whats in it for me?

When people think of geeks, they think of the kids in High School nobody really talked to, or however movies portray them.  Honestly, Hollywood really did a number on the “coolness” integrity of being a geek, because I promise you, it is really cool.  Over the course of my many years being a part of the “geek community” as I so affectionately call it, I have met  the greatest people I have ever known and lifetime friends, I have found lifetime hobbies in things like watching anime or partaking in playing video games.  Honestly, you will never find a funnier and more kindhearted person than your local geek.

Over the course of this blog, I shall tell you of my exploits in converting people to the geek side of the force, as well as telling you the basic things you need to know, like what an MMORPG is, of what a meme is.  But more than anything, I recommend you get out there and talk to them, I promise you we don’t bite.  Go out to a LAN party, bring your laptop and play with them. Go out and find your local anime convention or comic book convention (There is honestly no experience quite like a good convention). Nothing makes me happier than to see new people hanging out with us!

Throughout the course of this blog, I will be giving you, my loyal readers, some insight into what geeks really represent, and some fin facts and good things to know.

In the Immortal words of Mr. Spock: Live Long and Prosper.

Brian Laurence Bishop

4 responses to “Why SHOULD I become a Geek? Whats in it for me?

  1. Brian, I am excited about this blog. I have some thoughts which I hope you will address in a blog entry:
    1. You suggest non-geeks should go to a LAN party and play with the geeks but I would be so annoyed with someone if they came to my LAN party and just complained the whole time: “what does this button do?” “omg my sword/gun[insert weapon] won’t work” “ahh I don’t get how to use this!!”
    2. I am also really excited to see an entry on different kinds of geeks because although, I do not partake in the anime aspect, sometimes I do know about some internet memes & more mainstream geek things so am I a poser or just a noob?
    3. I think you should do an entry on a vocab lesson- commonly used geek words.
    4. Where does being a nerd end and being a geek begin?
    5. I would also love to hear your thoughts about why Disneyland is the best place on earth because you know how much I despise that place and cannot even begin to understand why anyone would like that place better than going camping in the redwoods 🙂 hehe

  2. Oh and I also love puns too so you should tell me your favorites.

    A dog was giving birth to a bunch of puppies along the side of the road. A cop pulled over and gave the dog a ticket for littering.

  3. Steph! Im so exceedingly happy! I actually had plans to address most, if not all of the things you brought up! So, i mean, If you waant to know more, kee a-readin! As for disneyland, I dunno, we don’t normally go when its crowded and terrible, we normally go when its break for the LA school and its quieter. And camping aint exactly my cup-o-tea!

    As for puns, Watch Aladdin again, Jafar is, without a doubt, the Punniest villain ever!

  4. hannahjane22

    “I shall tell you of my exploits in converting people to the geek side of the force” love it!! I am excited to learn the ways of “geeks.” I never really liked the stereotypical ‘geek’ that Hollywood portrays. I had a lot of ‘geek’ friends in high school and they were some of the most awesome people I knew! I never really understood what they were talking about, though. So I will look forward to learning how to ‘geek.’ 🙂

    I really like your writing style, by the way.

Leave a Reply

